top of page


A history of the WCH
While at the 25th meeting of the Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles (SSAR), international representatives from herpetology societies around the world founded the World Congress of Herpetology (WCH) on August 2, 1982. Kraig Adler and Marinus Hoogmoed were elected founding Secretary General and Treasurer. Initial funding was contributed by herpetology societies around the world, and was put toward the first WCH meeting in at Kent University in Canterbury, UK in 1989. This first meeting, in conjunction with the 32nd annual meeting of SSAR, was the largest meeting of international herpetologists to date.

Facilitate communication of herpetological scientific findings and other issues to the world community of herpetologists by organising international meetings every three to five years,
Serve as a voice for international herpetological issues, such as conservation,
Help to promote, in the public, respect and appreciation of all amphibians and reptiles,
Create and sustain links with local, national and regional herpetological societies in all parts of the world,
Participate with other organisations including the IUCN, Conservation International and NatureServe, in global initiatives to promote knowledge and conservation of amphibians and reptiles, such as the Global Amphibian Assessment and the IUCN/SSC Amphibian Specialist Group,
Facilitate the participation of young herpetologists, especially those from less developed countries, in its meetings and other activities.

The WCH has continued to meet every 3-5 years, as proposed by the constitution.

Details of the meetings are as follows:

WCH9: Dunedin, New Zealand 5-10 January 2020 (WCH2020 Website)

WCH8: Hangzhou, China, 15-21 August 2016 (more information here

WCH7: Vancouver, Canada, 8-14 August 2012 (more information here)
WCH6: Manaus, Brazil, 17-22 August 2008
WCH5: Stellenbosch, South Africa, 19-24 June 2005
WCH4: Bentota, Sri Lanka, 3-9 December 2001
WCH3: Prague, Czech Republic, 2-10 August 1997
WCH2: Adelaide, Australia, 29 Dec 1993 to 6 Jan 1994
WCH1: Canterbury, UK, 11-19 September 1989

bottom of page